Text Size minus sign plus sign

About Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation

Helena Headquarters"Helping to ensure that Montana's land and water resources provide benefits for present and future generations" is the mission of the Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation (DNRC).

First established in 1971 as a result of the Executive Reorganization Act of 1971, the DNRC provides leadership in managing the state's natural resources. It is presently responsible for promoting the stewardship of Montana's water, soil, forest, and rangeland resources; for regulating forest practices and oil and gas exploration and production. In the past eight years, the agency has generated $425 million for Montana school children through the sound management of state lands.

Department Organization

The director of the DNRC is John Tubbs.

As shown in the organization chart, nine boards and commissions are attached to the department. Six of them—the Board of Land Commissioners, Reserved Water Rights Compact Commission, Board of Oil and Gas Conservation, Board of Water Well Contractors, Flathead Basin Commission, and Montana Grass Conservation Commission—have decision-making authority. The other three—the Resource Conservation Advisory Council, Rangeland Resources Committee, and Drought Advisory Committee—act in an advisory capacity only.

Two of the divisions—the Oil and Gas Conservation Division and the Reserved Water Rights Compact Commission—are attached to the department for administrative purposes only.

Please feel free to contact us with any questions you may have.


Dept. of Natural Resources & Conservation
1625 Eleventh Ave.
Helena, MT 59601
Phone: (406) 444-2074
Fax: (406) 444-2684